Dr. Mario Santoso

Mario_Santoso.jpgMario Santoso is lector of piano at Universitas Pelita Harapan. A prizewinner in many competitions and awards, including Abilene Collegiate Orchestra Competition and Leonard Burford, Mario has appeared in concerts in the United States, Indonesia, and Malaysia. He has been presenting seminars and masterclasses in major cities in Indonesia, as well as judging national prestigious piano competition, including JCOM, Steinway, UPH, IPC, among others.


Examples of critical acclaim for performances by Mario come from, among many others, Mrs. Iravati M. Sudiarso (“I truly enjoyed, in so many ways you have matured as a musician artist with great gifts of the Lord’s ways of communication, Angel’s voice, which is so rare: you have it all”), the Jakarta Post (“Mario made effective use of the keys and sustaining pedal to take the GKJ audience on journey to a land of dream. . . . Each individual tone flowed like a stream of consciousness and the crowd was carried along in its slipstream”), the Jakarta Post (“His versatile piano-playing enabled him to develop drama that sprang to life from a funeral hymn, chiming church bells and looming thunder”), Dr. Peter Amstutz(“Your performance tonight was one of the best recitals I have ever heard. Bravo to you and thanks for giving all who were receptive a chance to experience a better world, at least for a while. You are an artist”).


During his student days, Mario earned his Doctor of Musical Arts degree from West Virginia University with Peter Amstutz; Master of Music degree from Indiana University with Arnaldo Cohen and Jean-Louis Haguenauer; and Bachelor of Music degree from Abilene Christian University with Gustavo Tolosa. Before embarking to the States, Mario studies with Susiana Aditjhan and Iravati M. Sudiarso at Yayasan Pendidikan Musik, and the late Soetarno Soetikno. Mario has also participated in many piano masterclasses, among many others, by Josef Anton Scherrer, Manfred Aust, Robert Lehrbaumer, Andre Watts, Nelita true, Susan Starr, Anton Nel, Roman Rudnistky, Aldo Mancinelli, Hans Jorg Koch, Reynaldo Reyes.